Bug 1969 - Fave process sends you back to anonymous after logging in
: Fave process sends you back to anonymous after logging in
Status: CLOSED FIXED
Product: maemo.org Website
News
: unspecified
: All Linux
: High major (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Henri Bergius
: news@maemo.org
: http://maemo.org/news
:
:
:
  Show dependency tree
 
Reported: 2007-09-04 06:11 UTC by Quim Gil
Modified: 2007-11-28 13:03 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:


Attachments
Page shown after favoriting a Planet àg (145.04 KB, image/png)
2007-09-11 08:05 UTC, Quim Gil
Details


Note

You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Description Quim Gil (reporter) nokia 2007-09-04 06:11:42 UTC
EXPECTED OUTCOME: 

Currently anonymous users can click on a heart to fave a news item. Once logged
in they should stay as logged in and keep favoriting news without trouble,
seeing the hearts red as soon as they have confirmed the faves.

ACTUAL OUTCOME:

An anonymous user is sent back to the anonymous status after clicking a heart,
logging in and confirming the fave. Because they are anonymous they don't see
the heart they just clicked red, but stil grey. If they click the same heart
(because they think sensibly that something went wrong) they get no visible
response from the system: no log in, no red heart. They have to log in manually
to realize their fav has been counted.

STEPS TO REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM:

1. You click on a heart as anonymous.

2. You get the login window. That's ok for registered users, but we need to
provide something for the potential non-registered users. They might be a
majority, at least in the short term.

3. You go to the favorites step to confirm (I still don't see why this
confirmation but this is another bug/RFE)

4. After ok you are left back to the logged-out screen! You don't see your
heart red and your fav counted.

5. If you click again (because you think something went wrong) the page won't
change at all, nor will give an error message that would tell you what's going
on. The solution of course is to kept users in https once they are logged in.

There is a variant:

A related issue (I can file a bug apart if you want, but it's just a new case
of the same problem described before):

1. Log in
2. Fav an item.
3. Log off.
4. Fav the same item as anonymous.

EXPECTED: a message telling me that I have already faved that item.

ACTUAL RESULT: nothing happens.

There is a variant:

1. Log in
2. Fav an item.
3. Log off.
4. Clean cookies, sessions, etc or simply pick another browser / computer.
5. As anonymous fav the same item.
6. Fill the login and press ok.

Same expected and actual results.

This might be confusing to users not remembering that they had already
favorited a news story days/weeks ago.

OTHER COMMENTS:

originally reported at http://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1815
Comment 1 Quim Gil (reporter) nokia 2007-09-06 12:56:47 UTC
It seems that the new web-based login has worsened the process. This is what I
get now:

1. You click on a heart as anonymous.

2. You get the login window. 

3. You go to the favorites step to confirm.

4. Nothing seems to happen after pressing ok. The browser keeps going and
going... nowhere.

5. At some point your press stop and you go to check the page. Your vote has
been recorded.
Comment 2 Quim Gil (reporter) nokia 2007-09-07 12:07:23 UTC
The previous report was on Ubuntu + Epiphany. I have confirmed with Firefox &
Windows. Firefox says:

The page isn't redirecting properly













Firefox has detected that the server is redirecting the request for this
address in a way that will never complete.


   *   This problem can sometimes be caused by disabling or refusing to accept
          cookies.
Comment 3 Quim Gil (reporter) nokia 2007-09-07 13:45:04 UTC
*** Bug 1992 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 4 Henri Bergius 2007-09-10 13:43:06 UTC
Favoriting now redirects to PermaLink of a favorited item on the host you are
favoriting on (i.e. HTTPS).
Comment 5 Quim Gil (reporter) nokia 2007-09-11 08:05:40 UTC
Created an attachment (id=552) [details]
Page shown after favoriting a Planet àg
Comment 6 Quim Gil (reporter) nokia 2007-09-11 08:06:21 UTC
Sorry, but after trying the new behaviour I don't think it's the right
solution. 

We got rid of the Flickr and YouTube copied pages and now they are back. Also
having an ugly-looking version of a nice looking entry in the Planet doesn't
make much sense (see attachment).

And well, if you are favoriting from the indexes (like I think many people do,
or at least I do) then you have to come back every time.

Is it possible to let the user just where she was before favoriting, but being
logged in if she was logged out?
Comment 7 Henri Bergius 2007-09-21 15:09:14 UTC
This has been fixed in Midgard SVN. Will update to maemo.org either on Sunday
or Monday.

http://trac.midgard-project.org/changeset/12418
Comment 8 Henri Bergius 2007-09-25 09:38:18 UTC
Installed, seems to work fine now.
Comment 9 Jake Kunnari 2007-11-28 13:03:50 UTC
Closing. Resolution has been verified.