Bug 1556

Summary: Application Menu In Thumb To Take 2 Columns
Product: [Maemo Official Platform] Desktop platform Reporter: Urho Konttori <urho.konttori>
Component: Application MenuAssignee: Jenni Romppainen <jenni.romppainen>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED QA Contact: task-navigator-bugs
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: Low CC: quim.gil
Version: 3.1   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   

Description Urho Konttori (reporter) 2007-06-18 22:23:24 UTC
When I use a thumb to click on the left side application menu in home view or
application view, what I get is a list of 6 icons. 4 top ones are the media
player, rss feed reader, images and file manager. If I want to , say , open
calculater, I have to scroll down the list (which is painfully slow) and then
eventually encounter the utilities and from there the calculator. But, let's
say I wanted some app from extras. Even longer scrolling and then list of
extras apps. Again 6 apps. Say I wanted the 8th app. Again, scrolling. 

Solution:
When I click on the application menu, take immediately more width for the menu
and assemble the icons in two columns. Thus, user will see 12 icons
immediately. No need to scroll, as the 1st level menu is less than 12. Ok,
click on one of the folders if further need. 
Again, open in two column mode and show all apps at the same time. If user
wants to navigate to first level, he/she only has to press the application menu
item again. 

This would improve the thumb usability tremendously on N800.
Comment 1 Quim Gil nokia 2007-06-25 06:40:10 UTC
fyi, according to Johan Bilien in maemo-developers: "The two-columns menu is
already available in Sardine, if you wanna take a look. It's pretty much as you
describe here."

If it's today in Sardine we can expect this to be implemented in Chinook or
later (can anybody confirm?)
Comment 2 Johan Bilien nokia 2007-06-25 08:49:28 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> fyi, according to Johan Bilien in maemo-developers: "The two-columns menu is
> already available in Sardine, if you wanna take a look. It's pretty much as you
> describe here."
> 
> If it's today in Sardine we can expect this to be implemented in Chinook or
> later (can anybody confirm?)
> 

Yes Chinook. I'll mark this bug as Resolved Fixed